First Date Nerves

So today I went for a day trip to Leicester.  I figured today was as good a day as any.  Unfortunately, Ben’s dad was unable to come with me as he was ill (get better soon Les!!), but I decided to suck it up & act like a big girl & go for it myself.

So, after a false start (I forgot my bus pass) I went for the bus to the train station.  Which took an hour to arrive.

Luckily, the arrival of the bus coincided with the train pulling into the station, so maybe I shouldn’t complain!

An hour later I was in Leicester.  I’ve never been before, and I’ll be honest, I didn’t see any of it really! A mile & a half walk to the car lot, and it was closed!

‘Noooooooooooooooooooooooo!’ Thought I!  Again, my luck was in & I had just enough credit on my phone to give the owner a call who sent someone down in 20 minutes.

So, maybe it was my lucky day after all!

Well, maybe not.  No Morris Oxford!

But, a 1968 Morris 1000!

She is absolutely beautiful, and less money too.  I gave her a good look over, and she is in excellent condition with barely any rust, lovely engine, and perfect leather seats.  She was my backup, so I’m not disappointed, in fact, maybe it was meant to be!

It was a comedy time at the car lot, first of all, like I said, noone was there when I turned up, then Yunis, the man who came down, couldn’t find the battery, then the battery he borrowed was flat, so he borrowed another, then we discovered the choke needed pulling out.  There’s not much hope is there?! It was good fun though, and she really is a beaut!

The deposit is paid, so there’s no going back now!

World, meet Maggie!

What a day! I am exhausted, but floating on air! I think things have worked out really well, This little baby is probably more suited to my tinyness (5′ 3-and-a-bit-inches), and she is so comfortable!

Thank you to everyone who has helped so far, and thank you to everyone who is intending to help!

ttfn

Katiexxxx

8 responses

  1. What a beautiful car! Congratulations!

    1. Thank you! She is stunning! In such great condition & full service history too! AGH! I’m in loooooooooove!!

  2. What a lovely car! You are so lucky, you’ll look SO vintage nipping about town in it. What’s it like to drive? I’ve always wanted one myself but worry that the non-power steering would be too heavy for me (I am SUCH a wimp!). How soon do you think you’ll be on the road? I’m thinking of adding to your fund come pay day. Goodluck! x

    1. She’s a beast, you can tell that cars were built to last when she was made!! It’s hard going steering, but I’m working on my muscles so I’ll be good, just call me Arnie 😉

      I’m hoping hoping hoping I’ll be able to get her within a month, but as the deposit is all paid, she’s definately mine now **yay**

      I was saying to my mum how it just felt ‘right’ sitting behind the wheel! I’m so lame!

      1. I know that feeling “It just felt right” – my girlfriend bought a project moggy saloon which we’re now sorting out (actually: MOT passed last weekend!) – as soon as I sat in the driving seat to move it, my thoughts were, “I want one”.
        I was looking for a car at the time, so I went and bought a traveller. Simple as that. 😀

        Good luck!!

      2. It was bizarre, I’m not a believer in fate & that sort of stuff, but sitting in it was just…RIGHT!! 😀

        I love her.

        I think I might leave Ben for her. Don’t tell him though.

    2. well girls i dont think the steering bad when your moving its only heavy when its not moving lol so hey laura go for it get a morris

      1. It’s true, the steering isn’t bad at all when you’re moving ;D

        I really should take some pictures & update this place!! I just haven’t had time! Wah!

Leave a Reply

